To babble, perchance to write…

Does writing about the fact I forgot to write count towards my weekly writing commitment? Yes, I realise it’s a complex moral conundrum, but I really didn’t mean to forget. I just… forgot…

Well, actually, that’s not wholly true. I did write something. In fact, it was a rather flaccid attempt at continuing my passing flirtation with ‘fiction’ which seemed to leave a rather satisfying impact on a few readers (satisfying mostly for me, if I were to be honest). Trying and, in my opinion, failing to once again capture the mood, or essence, of whatever was in my head at the time has served to point out to me how fickle this whole enterprise is. In fact, for us amateur writers, it often feels rather random.

No ideas. Just a blank screen.

And so I revert to the writer’s greatest cheat – writing about their own writers’ block. But, once again, that is not entirely true, as I did write something. It just wasn’t very good. And I hope that, by simply sharing with you, also in a rather random way, my little struggle, I can squeeze a modicum of creativity and perhaps write my way out of this funk.

You know what? I think I’ll return to that little piece of fiction, give it a shot, post it up, hold my breath and see what happens.

See you in a couple of days.

2 Comments

Filed under Words & Thoughts

2 responses to “To babble, perchance to write…

  1. Emma

    I had exactly the same problem over the last few days – I couldn’t find a way to write what I wanted to properly, and so I wrote about writer’s block – I am not the only one then!

    Emma http://ideasofawanderingmind.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a comment